Sheffield = regn

Since I don't have the proper a ae oe letters on this keyboard you will just have to be content with reading this in English instead, so I can type properly.

I am back in Sheffield with Yvette, as usual enjoying her company. She's now in the new house (students here seem to move on a yearly basis), which is so much nicer than the old one (where we aptly named the other inhabitants 'slaves', as their best use would be to sell them off to slavery).

New house is nicer. On the minus side for this visit is that Meadowhall, the very nice and excellent shopping center, is closed due to the flooding. It's a pity for all those who want to visit (such as myself), but I think the people with the stores are even more sorry. So far, they are losing 9 million pounds per week. That's about 100 million Swedish - per week, and it is predicted to be closed at least another week.

Sheffield is a rainy place. It is not as industrial and dirty and rough as everyone is saying, at least not the university parts of town where I am (it's the size of Gothenburg by the way). But it does rain. It has been raining every single day I have been here, and according to local sources, it does most every day. Showers, then grey clouds. Showers, then grey clouds, showers. When I saw the sun for four minutes the other day, I nearly had a heart attack.

I have been shopping some new trainers (gymnastikskor) which was needed, and in a little while we are off to the gym and/or swimming hall for some exercise. Yvette's only got a few weeks until the World Championships in Brazil and I see an opportunity to get some training done at the same time.

Meanwhile, I am trying to keep up the work for my business. It works reasonably well, but will be much easier once there is internet in this house, since I'm now on my ridiculuosly expensive 3G modem (my best investment ever!).

I am also looking to invest in a proper ultraportable laptop to accompany me on my trips. It will either be a Sony Vaio (XTS, is that right Sasja?) or the Fujitsu/Siemens P7230 model, both of which have received good recommendations. There is also a Dell that I've seen people use. But Dell is not to be trusted and you can't really upgrade. On the other hand, for someone who travels a lot and is dependent on service plans, maybe a Dell would be the easiest choice in many ways. We shall see, it is a big investment.

Time to go! Take care everyone!

Kommentarer
Postat av: mamma

are there any quilt shops in Shefield in that case..........

2007-07-03 @ 13:47:56
Postat av: Saschen

Uhm, XTS seem to be a graphics card from Radeon (XTs 9000) which (without reading the specs on the comps but go by their actual titles) there are no VAIO comps with or am I just looking in the wrong direction?

2007-07-09 @ 16:13:17

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0