London, baby

At the moment, I'm sitting in a crowded Internet cafe not far from Leicester square. Travelling  has become so much easier since I was a kid, though I still think the security checks are a drag. Not to mention the robbery I was presented with buying breakfast at Kastrup - 95 danish crowns for a small breakfast. But I needed some food.

Once in  London, I caught the National Rail service from Gatwick to Victoria station and then on to the tube. I am now the proud holder of an Oyster Card, a prepaid card that you use on all transportations (just like our Skanekortet). You just beep it when you go on trains and it keeps track of travelling.

Mia met me at the tube and we went to the house where she lives, not fra from Crouch End northeast of Camden. She then hurried off to help someone with their singing and I was left alone to discover a typical British house - promptly falling asleep on my bed, after having been up since 4am.

Once I woke up I managed to get into central London on my own and toured the area around Leicester square. Sorry Cellen, no luck with the cranberry tea so far, but I'm working on it. It was odd having lunch in "our" MCDonalds by Leicester Square....

Once Mia showed up, we went to Borders/Starbucks for coffee and books. It's hopeless. I am a book addict. Completely a book addict. They have no taxes on books here. And they have lots of books. Good books.

Well, now we're off to catch dinner. I feel global. I always do in this town. I could come here for that feeling alone....

You will hear more of my travels when I get the chance.

Cheers, as they say here.

Kommentarer
Postat av: Cellen

Do me a favour darling, and eat the garlic burger at Garfunkels ... I miss London.

2006-10-18 @ 22:43:46
URL: http://kryckans.blogg.se

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0